Acuff elected Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology

Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 1:10pm

Dr. Gary Acuff, director of the Texas A&M Center for Food Safety and a professor of food microbiology in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University in College Station, has been elected Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology. 

Acuff will be recognized May 20 at the academy luncheon during the general meeting of the American Society for Microbiology in Boston, Mass.

For the last 50 years, 2,700 distinguished scientists have been elected to the Academy. Fellows are elected through a highly selective, annual, peer review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. A committee on elections, consisting of Fellows of the Academy who are elected by the membership, reviews all nominations for Fellowship and recommends to the Board of Governors what action should be taken.

Each elected Fellow has built an exemplary career in basic and applied research, teaching, clinical and public health, industry, or government service, according to the academy. Election to Fellowship indicates recognition of distinction in microbiology by one’s peers. More than 200 Academy Fellows have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, while many have also been honored with Nobel Prizes, Lasker Awards, and the National Medal of Science, according to the academy.

Acuff directs activities at the Texas A&M Center for Food Safety, which is an interdisciplinary collaborative effort revolving around food safety research, training and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service activities.

Acuff received a bachelor’s of science degree in biology from Abilene Christian University and his master’s degree and doctorate in food science and technology, specializing in food microbiology, from Texas A&M University. 


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment